My daughter said I'm a bad mom

And my husbund thinks I'm becoming my mom

Have your kid ever told you right to your face that you are a bad mom?

Or is your partner telling you that you are becoming your mom?

Well…both of them did.

My daughter called me a bad mom, and my husband told me that I’m becoming MY MOM.

And oh boy it stings.

It stings really bad that I am locked in our bathroom right now typing this out.

I woke up at 3 AM today to show up for my work. I fed the dog and walked the dog. And I have been working for the past 4 hours before my husband and daughter decided to wake up and grace me with their presence.

People don’t really understand how hard it is to be a mom unless you are a mom yourself. In this case, you probably are because you are on my mailing list.

Being a mom means that you have to try to wear all these hats at the same time. Most of the time, you don’t even get paid or even get a break at the end of it all (if there’s even an end).

Why am I even sharing all these with you?

Because I know how it feels…

I know that you might need to read this so you can understand that…

You are not alone. You probably are not the best. But sure d*mn well that you are trying your best every single day, every waking hour, every minute.

They just don’t know it.

I’m not expecting a gold medal. I’m not expecting to be treated like a queen.

All I want is acknowledgment for everything that I do for the family.

If you DO NOT want to hear from me, please let me know by replying to this email and why. Or you can click the button below as well.

You’ve probably read my other newsletters in the past months.

If you’re with me that long, you know that I am married to a Canadian.

Most of the time, when we are in public, I can see all the stares that we are getting from people.

They are probably thinking how lucky I am to be married to a foreigner.

Well, hate to break it to you, but it’s not always sunshine and rainbows.

It’s been really tough. But I wouldn’t have done it any other way.

I make my own money.

That is one of the things that I wish people knew when they blurt out how lucky I am to be with my husband.

I make my own money, and I have worked hard to make it.

In fact, I make more money than my husband, almost 6 out of 8 years we’ve been together. I am still making more money than him.

I’m not saying this to brag.

I’m saying this because I want people to understand that not everything you see is what it actually is.

I’ve been so proactive with our finances and investments that we are so comfortable right now. If I depended on other people alone, I don’t think we’ll have all the assets that we have right now.

And if being a bad mom means nagging your kid to eat veggies, to not use gadgets, to make sure that she has everything she needs and want, and to be present all day every day, then so be it.

I am a bad mom.

All the love and support,

P.S. Thank you for reading my rant. I appreciate you. You rock.

Reply

or to participate.